Colloquium: Olga Russakovsky

Fri, Feb 15, 2019, 12:00 pm

Computer vision meets fairness

Computer vision systems are pervasive: from sorting postal mail to unlocking a phone with FaceID to playing a game with Kinect, this technology is shaping more aspects of our lives than we sometimes realize. Yet more and more historical societal biases are making their way into these seemingly innocuous systems. In this talk, we'll dive deeper both into the technical reasons and the potential solutions for algorithmic fairness in computer vision. 

Location: 
Speaker(s): 

Workshop: Text Analysis in R

Wed, Feb 20, 2019, 10:30 am
Speaker(s):

Colloquium: Susan Athey

Fri, Feb 22, 2019, 12:00 pm

Colloquium: Jonathan Mummolo

Fri, Mar 1, 2019, 12:00 pm
Speaker(s):

Workshop: Parallel Processing in R on Your Own Machine

Wed, Mar 6, 2019, 10:30 am
Speaker(s):

Colloquium: Max Gopelrud

Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 12:00 pm
Speaker(s):

Colloquium: In Song Kim

Fri, Mar 15, 2019, 12:00 pm
Speaker(s):

Workshop: Speeding up R with Rcpp

Wed, Mar 20, 2019, 10:30 pm
Speaker(s):

Colloquium: Jon Kleinberg

Fri, Mar 29, 2019, 12:00 pm
Speaker(s):

Workshop: Parallel Processing in R on the Clusters

Wed, Apr 3, 2019, 10:30 am
Speaker(s):

Colloquium: Tom Griffiths

Fri, Apr 5, 2019, 12:00 pm
Speaker(s):